Whirling Prize

UIndy’s Whirling Prize is a post-publication literary award. Once all of the submissions are, in the students read, critique, log, and evaluate each book. The students then rank each book against one another. Eventually, the students boil everything down to two winners. The winners receive a monetary award of $500 and are invited to read as part of the Kellogg Writers Series.

More specific information at the guidelines for the Whirling Prize can be found here.

Previous Winners

  • What Was Mine by Helen Klein Ross (purchase it here)
  • The Open Mouth of the Vase by Amy Ash (purchase it here)
  • Boxing the Compass by Sandy Florian (purchase it here)
  • Dear Hero by Jason McCall (purchase it here)